Better Late Than Never (Update)

So, in the prior post I discussed why having a small SSD and a large HDD can be good.  However, there was another reason to have this setup, especially with the very small SSD installed in my system: a cache disk.

It’s a simple concept:  Have Windows setup and use the SSD as a cache, or stored memory, for common files and program on the HDD to allow for “quicker” performance, as the SSD would load the cached files while the HDD spins to catch up.

This seems like a nifty setup.  However, I never found out how nifty, because I never had a system setup like that before.  I would like to enable it to see what the performance is like, but Intel doesn’t support my system (I don’t know why) and Windows doesn’t seem to support it as well.  So, I’m out of luck (though I suspect it won’t affect me).

So ends this little update.  Cool, but not really worth a lot of words, at least for now.

Leave a comment